O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1919

O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1919


Book Excerpt

an are represented by spare sheaves. Again, a number of new
and promising writers have not quite attained sureness of touch;
although that they are acquiring it is manifest in the work of Ben Ames
Williams, Edison Marshall, Frances Wood, Samuel Derieux, John Russell,
Beatrice Ravenel and Myra Sawhill. Too frequently, there is “no story”:
a series of episodes however charmingly strung out is not a story; a
sketch, however clever or humorous, is not a story; an essay, however
wisely expounding a truth, is not a story. So patent are these facts,
they are threadbare from repetition; yet of them succeeding aspirants
seem to be as ignorant as were their predecessors–who at length found
knowledge. For obvious reasons, names of authors who succeed in a
certain literary form, but who produce no story are omitted.

Again, some stories just miss the highest mark. A certain one, praised
by a magazine editor as the best of the year, suffers in the opinion of
the Committee, or part of the Committee, from an introduction


如果您有任何问题,请随时与我们联系,谢谢。O. Henry Memorial Award Prize Stories of 1919 内容均搜集于网络,本身不存储任何资源,如侵犯到您的权益,请提交反馈,我们将配合您第一时间删除。